There are seven recognized species of sea turtles; the hawksbill, green, flatback, loggerhead, Kemp's ridley, olive ridley and the leatherback turtle.   Not all seven species populate the waters of St. Croix, we commonly observe the green, hawksbill, and leatherback which is predominantly only seen nesting on the beaches at night during mating season.  All seven species of sea turtles are listed under the Endangered Species Act.